2020 (Please see the Alumni News Archive for nominations and wins previous to 2020)

Sheree Renée Thomas (CW ’99) will host the 2021 Hugo Awards in Washington, D.C. with Malka Older, and Thomas will be a Guest of Honor at WisCon 45 and DisCon III.

We congratulate A. T. Greenblatt (CW ’17) and Cat Rambo (CW ’05) on their Nebula awards for short story and novelette, respectively.

2019 instructor Amal El-Mohtar also won a Nebula and a Locus award for best novella for This Is How You Lose The Time War, with Max Gladstone.

We congratulate Cynthia Ward (CW ’92), Nisi Shawl (CW ’92), and K. Tempest Bradford (CW ’03) on winning the Locus SPECIAL AWARD 2020: INCLUSIVITY AND REPRESENTATION EDUCATION for their work through Writing the Other.

Nisi Shawl (CW ’92) made us all extra proud by also winning the Locus Award for their anthology New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Color.

Indrapramit Das (CW ’12) just won the Shirley Jackson award for his short story, “Kali_Na.” Well done, Indra!

Congratulations to Greg Cox (CW ’84) on winning the Scribe Award for Original Novel (Speculative) for Batman: The Court of Owls.

The following alumni are nominated for awards this season, and you may be able to vote for them! With pride, we congratulate and recommend:

Sheree Renée Thomas (CW ’99)

World Fantasy Award for Professional Contributions to the Genre (Dark Matter et al.)

Nisi Shawl (CW ’92)

World Fantasy Award, Best Collection

New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Color.

Rebecca Campbell (CW ’15)

Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic, Short Story

“The Fourth Trimester is the Strangest” in The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction

Dr. Helen Marshall (CW ’12)

Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic, Adult Fiction

The Migration (Random House Canada)

Anne Toole (CW ’11)

Scribe Award, Graphic Novel

Pet Noir (with Christie Yant & Pati Nagle) (Kymera)

Colleen Anderson (CW ’87)

Dwarf Stars Award, Science Fiction Poetry Association, horror haiku

“knife blade flutters”

Cadwell Turnbull (CW ’16)

2020 Neukom Institute Literary Award for Debut Speculative Fiction

The Lesson (Blackstone Publishing)

A. T. Greenblatt (CW ’17)

2020 Theodore A. Sturgeon Memorial Award

Nebula Award

Best Short Story: “Give the Family My Love”

Tegan Moore (CW ’15)

Asimov’s Readers’ Award

Best Novella: “The Work of Wolves”

Andy Duncan (CW ’94)

Asimov’s Readers’ Award

Best Novelette: “Charlie Tells Another One”

Vylar Kaftan (CW ’04)

Nebula Award

Best Novella: “Her Silhouette, Drawn in Water”

Siobhan Carroll (CW ’09)

Hugo Award

Nebula Award

World Fantasy Award

Best Novelette: “For He Can Creep”

Mimi Mondal (CW ’15)

Nebula Award

Best Novelette: “His Footsteps, Through Darkness and Light”

Nibedita Sen (CW ’15)

Astounding Award for Best New Writer

Nebula Award

Hugo Award

Best Short Story: “Ten Excerpts from an Annotated Bibliography on the Cannibal Women of Ratnabar Island”

Caroline M Yoachim (CW ’06)

Nebula Award

Hugo Award

2020 Theodore A. Sturgeon Memorial Award

Best Novelette: “The Archronology of Love”

Shiv Ramdas (CW ’16)

Nebula Award

Hugo Award

Best Short Story: “And Now His Lordship Is Laughing”

Cat Rambo (CW ’05)

Nebula Award

Best Novelette: “Carpe Glitter”

Lawrence Schimel, translator (CW ’91)

Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry

Impure Acts by Angelo Néstore

Craig Laurance Gidney (CW ’96)

Lambda Literary Award

LBGTQ SF/F/Horror (book): A Spectral Hue

Marlee Jane Ward (CW ’14)

Aurealis Award

Best Science Fiction Novella: Prisoncorp

Best YA Short Story: “Rats”

Did we overlook your nomination? Please contact us at alumni@clarionwest.org to notify us of publications and nominations in the future!