The purchase of the publications listed below benefit Clarion West and all of our programs.

You can also go to our page at to purchase books supporting Clarion West and to discover books by our alumni.

Little Sisters and Other Stories

Vonda N. McIntryre
Goldsmiths Press

This volume presents a selection of short fiction by Vonda Neel McIntyre (1948-2019), one of the most acclaimed writers of post-war US American science fiction, and the winner of multiple awards for both novels and short fiction.

These stories, which span the whole of McIntyre’s career, show the broad range of her interests and her voice, taking us from bleak dystopian worlds on the verge of environmental collapse to baroque intergalactic civilizations populated by genetically modified humans, from cries for freedom to sharp-eyed satire to meditations on aging. Throughout run her distinctive themes of gender and power dynamics, human and species diversity, and a pragmatic utopianism that emphasises our mutual dependency.

Pocket Workshop

Edited by Tod McCoy & M. Huw Evans
Hydra House Books

Pocket Workshop collects 28 essays by instructors of the Clarion West Writers Workshop which illuminate their experiences of writing and of living as professional writers.

Essays include advice for handling writer’s block, working with voice, and using allegory, insights on mentoring, methods for scene-setting, landing a good finish, and writing in spite of distractions, and so much more.

Since 1984, the six-week writers workshop has provided resources to more than 600 science fiction, fantasy, and horror writers, many of whom work today as professional and award-winning authors and editors.


Publication date: February 9, 2021

* Limited-edition hardcover available only through the Hydra House Books website

Copyright 2021 Clarion West Writers Workshop. Originally published in 2021. Published by Hydra House Books in 2021. Cover design by John D. Berry. Illustrations by Cory Skerry.

Table of Contents
  • “Introduction” by Neile Graham
  • “Being and Becoming a Writer” by Karen Lord
  • “We All Have to Start Somewhere: Finding Your Process and Making it Work for You” by Tina Connolly and Caroline M. Yoachim
  • “Setting the Scene” by Nancy Kress
  • “Thickening the Plot” by Samuel R. Delany
  • “Some Thoughts on Exposition” by Tobias Buckell
  • “The Devil Is in the Details” by Connie Willis
  • “Coincidentally . . .” by Stephen Graham Jones
  • “Channeling Voices” by Andy Duncan
  • “Status” by Helen Marshall
  • “Neowise” by Paul Park
  • “The Old Marvellous” by John Crowley
  • “The Three Laws of Great Endings and My Two Shameless Hacks” by James Patrick Kelly
  • “Diversity Plus: Diverse Story Forms, Not Just Diverse Faces” by Henry Lien
  • “Researching Imaginary Worlds” by Ken MacLeod
  • “Something to Cry About” by Nisi Shawl
  • “The Narrative Gift as a Moral Conundrum” by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • “Tapping the Source” by Elizabeth Hand
  • “Feed Your Engine” by Jack Skillingstead
  • “Congratulations on Learning to Juggle — Now Get on the Unicycle” by Daryl Gregory
  • “Writing in the Age of Distraction” by Cory Doctorow
  • “Going Through an Impasse: Evading Writer’s Block” by Eileen Gunn
  • “On Mentors and Mentees” by Cat Rambo
  • “Pitfalls of Writing Science Fiction & Fantasy: General Useful Information & Other Opinionated Comments” by Vonda N. McIntyre
  • “Positive Obsession” by Octavia Butler
  • “* Take As Needed” by Hiromi Goto
  • “Matters of Life and Death” by Susan Palwick
  • “Proverbs of Hell for Writers” by Ian McDonald

The Exile Waiting

By Vonda N. McIntyre
Handheld Press

The Exile Waiting was the first novel by Hugo and Nebula award-winning novelist Vonda N. McIntyre. First published in 1975, it introduces the world that McIntyre later made famous with her multi-award-winning Dreamsnake: a post-apocalyptic world in which Center, an enclosed domed city, is run by slave-owning families who control the planet’s resources and are strangling the city’s economy with their decadent demands.

This new edition from Handheld Press features cover art by Jane Cornwell, which Vonda saw and approved shortly before her death in early 2019.

Una McCormack wrote the Afterword, which has been longlisted for the British Science Fiction Association non-fiction award for 2019 (read an extract here).

Also included is a bonus short story: McIntyre’s forgotten origins story “Cages” was first published in 1972 and was rediscovered during the preparation of this edition.

Telling Tales

Telling Tales

Edited by Ellen Datlow
Hydra House Books

Hydra House is proud to present Telling Tales, an anthology celebrating the 30th Anniversary of the Clarion West Writers Workshop, featuring works by critically acclaimed, award-winning graduates. The anthology is a fundraiser for Clarion West as well as a celebration of the workshop.

Edited by Ellen Datlow, Telling Tales includes sixteen short works of science fiction, fantasy, and horror by award-winning and highly acclaimed alumni of the prestigious writing program.

And each author chose an instructor from the year they attended Clarion West to write an afterword for their story.


Purchase options:

Available in ebook or print-on-demand paperback through Amazon.

Table of Contents:

  • “Endings and Beginnings” by Vonda N. McIntyre
  • Introductionby Ellen Datlow
  • “The Parrot Man” by Kathleen Goonan
  • “Absalom’s Mother” by Louise Marley
  • “Mulberry Boys” by Margo Lanagan
  • “The Fate of Mice” by Susan Palwick
  • “My She” by Mary Rosenblum
  • “Bitter Dreams” by Ian McHugh
  • “Leviathan Wept” by Daniel Abraham
  • “Start the Clock” by Benjamin Rosenbaum
  • “I Hold My Father’s Paws” by David Levine
  • “Beluthahatchie” by Andy Duncan
  • “Another Word For Map Is Faith” by Christopher Rowe
  • “The Adventures of Captain Black Heart Wentworth: A Nautical Tail” by Rachel Swirsky
  • “A Boy in Cathyland” by David Marusek
  • “The Water Museum” by Nisi Shawl
  • “The Evolution of Trickster Stories Among the Dogs of North Park After the Change” by Kij Johnson
  • “The Lineaments of Gratified Desire” by Ysabeau Wilce

Afterwords by:

  • Greg Bear
  • Pat Murphy
  • Howard Waldrop
  • Samuel R. Delany
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Maureen McHugh
  • Lucy Sussex
  • Connie Willis
  • Geoff Ryman
  • Elizabeth Hand
  • Terry Bisson
  • Andy Duncan
  • Pat Cadigan
  • Nancy Kress
  • Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Paul Park

Remembering Vonda

Edited by Stephanie A. Smith & Jeanne Gomoll
Union Street Press

Award-winning SFF author Vonda N. McIntyre died April 1, 2019. The world lost a force of nature, a brilliant, kind, generous, fiercely talented artist. Friends, colleagues, admirers, fans pay tribute here to a radiant life.

McIntyre’s oeuvre includes Dreamsnake (Hugo & Nebula award winner, 1978), The Moon and the Sun (Nebula 1998; movie, awaiting release), as well as stories, novelizations, and tie-ins — including the Star Trek novel The Entropy Effect. She founded the Clarion West workshop and was a “fairy godmother” to hundreds of students.

A quiet, tireless feminist, Kentucky-born McIntyre moved to Seattle and became a life-long resident, as well as a prolific creator of crochet topology. McIntyre also collaborated with Ursula K. Le Guin, and she was a founding member of the author-owned publishing cooperative, Book View Cafe. McIntyre both shaped and nurtured the SFF community. As her friend Jane Hawkins has said, “we shall not see her like again.”

All proceeds from Remembering Vonda benefit Clarion West Writers Workshop.