Clarion West announces instructors for 2016

Clarion West is pleased to announce the instructors for the 2016 Summer Six-Week Workshop:

  • Paul Park (Clarion West’s 2016 Leslie Howle Fellow)
  • Stephen Graham Jones
  • Elizabeth Bear
  • N.K. Jemisin
  • Sheila Williams
  • Geoff Ryman (Clarion West’s 2016 Susan C. Petrey Fellow)

More information about these distinguished instructors will be posted on the Clarion West website soon. Applications for the 2016 workshop will open in December of 2015.

Posted in Featured | Comments Off on Clarion West announces instructors for 2016

Clarion West to Receive National Endowment for the Arts Grant

Through its grant-making to thousands of nonprofits each year, the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) promotes opportunities for people in communities across America to experience the arts and exercise their creativity.

In the second major grant announcement of fiscal year 2015, the NEA will make an award to Clarion West in support of the Six-Week Workshop and the Summer Reading Series. The NEA will make 1,023 awards totaling $74.3 million nationwide in this funding round.

NEA Chairman Jane Chu said, “The NEA is committed to advancing learning, fueling creativity, and celebrating the arts in cities and towns across the United States. Funding these new projects like the one from Clarion West represents an investment in both local communities and our nation’s creative vitality.”

Clarion West is committed to forging new and diverse voices in science fiction and fantasy through extraordinary educational opportunities. Through its Six-Week Summer Workshop, it prepares new writers for their careers and connects them with a community of fellow writers and passionate fans. Clarion West also makes speculative fiction available to the public by presenting readings and other events that bring writers and readers together.

To join the Twitter conversation about this announcement, please use #NEASpring2015. For more information on projects included in the NEA grant announcement, go to

Posted in Featured | Comments Off on Clarion West to Receive National Endowment for the Arts Grant

Telling Tales

Telling Tales, edited by Ellen Datlow, is a new anthology of stories by award-winning and acclaimed Clarion West graduates. Read stories by Rachel Swirsky, Ben Rosenbaum, Kij Johnson, David Levine, and many more of your favorite authors, plus essays by Ursula K. Le Guin, Gardner Dozois, Nancy Kress, Greg Bear, and other great Clarion West instructors.

When you buy a copy, all proceeds benefit the organization. Clarion West launched this book/fundraiser at the Locus Awards, and copies are available now at Seattle’s University Book Store, and online via and publisher Hydra House (whose generosity makes this fundraiser possible).

See the full Table of Contents and cover art here.

Posted in Featured | Comments Off on Telling Tales